Technology · News

Amazon unveils redesigned Kindle lineup with Colorsoft, new Paperwhite and base model

Published:

In brief

Amazon has introduced a redesigned Kindle family for 2026, including an updated base Kindle, Kindle Paperwhite and Kindle Colorsoft, all built around a new flush-front, edge-to-edge display design. The base Kindle starts at $149.99 and is shipping immediately. Amazon says Paperwhite and Colorsoft are available for preorder on a rolling basis, while e-reader news site the-ebook-reader.com reported they are scheduled to begin shipping on October 28.

What Amazon announced

Amazon said it redesigned its entire Kindle e-reader family for 2026, covering the entry-level Kindle, the Kindle Paperwhite and the Kindle Colorsoft, according to a post on the company's official news site, aboutamazon.com. The company described the change as a new 'reverse stack' display construction that removes the raised bezel around the screen, giving the devices a flush-front, edge-to-edge look.

The aboutamazon.com announcement was written by Kevin Keith, Amazon's vice president of devices.

Models, prices and release dates

The base Kindle, a 6-inch device, starts at $149.99 with 16GB of storage in Graphite and Ube (purple) colors, and is available immediately, Amazon said. A 32GB aluminum-backed version costs $189.99 and comes in Alpine Sky and Seaglass Green. Amazon said this model opens books about 30% faster than the previous generation and offers up to six weeks of battery life.

The Kindle Paperwhite starts at $199.99 for a 16GB Graphite model, with a 32GB Signature Edition priced at $249.99 in Graphite or Seaglass Green, per Amazon's announcement. Amazon said the Paperwhite now has the highest-contrast screen of any Kindle and up to 12 weeks of battery life. According to the-ebook-reader.com, the Paperwhite and Colorsoft are available for preorder and are scheduled to begin shipping on October 28; Amazon's own announcement describes them as available for preorder on a rolling basis without naming a specific ship date.

The Kindle Colorsoft, Amazon's color e-reader, starts at $289.99 with 16GB storage in Graphite, with a 32GB Signature Edition at $319.99 in Graphite or Fig, according to Amazon. Amazon did not specify a battery-life figure for the Colorsoft in its announcement, and none of the outlets reviewed for this article reported one.

2026 Kindle lineup at a glance
ModelStarting priceStorageDisplay sizeBattery life (Amazon)
Kindle (base)$149.9916GB (32GB aluminum model $189.99)6 inchUp to 6 weeks
Kindle Paperwhite$199.9916GB (32GB Signature Edition $249.99)7 inchUp to 12 weeks
Kindle Colorsoft$289.9916GB (32GB Signature Edition $319.99)7 inchNot specified

How the new color display works

According to the-ebook-reader.com, the redesigned Colorsoft uses a light guide with nitride LEDs intended to improve color and brightness, along with what the site described as reverse-printing technology and micro-deflectors meant to reduce stray light on the screen. Android Authority reported that Amazon described the update as reducing stray light and improving contrast compared with the prior Colorsoft model.

The Paperwhite Signature Edition adds an aluminum back, wireless charging contacts (pogo pins) for a charging dock, and an auto-brightness sensor that adjusts the front light, according to the-ebook-reader.com, which did not report the same level of detail for the Colorsoft Signature Edition's hardware.

New accessories

Amazon introduced the Kindle Click, a $34.99 Bluetooth remote for turning pages, which the-ebook-reader.com said is compatible with Kindle models released from 2024 onward. The site also reported a new $79.99 Page Turn Cover with physical page-turn buttons, built for the Paperwhite Signature Edition and Colorsoft Signature Edition.

What is not yet confirmed

Neither Amazon's announcement nor the independent coverage reviewed specified a battery-life figure for the Kindle Colorsoft, and the base Kindle's announcement did not mention waterproofing or warm-light features, which the-ebook-reader.com said are absent from that entry-level model unlike the Paperwhite and Colorsoft.

Questions

When do the new Kindle Paperwhite and Kindle Colorsoft ship?
The-ebook-reader.com reported that both are available for preorder now and are scheduled to begin shipping on October 28. Amazon's own announcement describes the preorder as happening on a 'rolling basis' without naming that specific date.
How much does the new Kindle Colorsoft cost?
The Kindle Colorsoft starts at $289.99 for a 16GB model, with a 32GB Signature Edition priced at $319.99, according to Amazon's official announcement.
What is the Kindle Click?
It is a $34.99 Bluetooth remote that lets readers turn pages without touching the screen, compatible with Kindle models from 2024 onward, according to Amazon and the-ebook-reader.com.
Is the base Kindle waterproof?
According to the-ebook-reader.com, the entry-level Kindle lacks waterproofing and warm front light, features that are reserved for the Paperwhite and Colorsoft models.
What changed in the new display design?
Amazon said all 2026 Kindle models use a new reverse-stack display construction that removes the raised screen bezel for a flush, edge-to-edge look, with the Colorsoft adding nitride LEDs and glare-reducing elements for its color screen.

Sources

  1. Amazon — The new Amazon Kindle lineup: thinner, lighter, edge-to-edge color
  2. Android Authority — Amazon's 2026 Kindle lineup introduces the Kindle Click remote
  3. The eBook Reader Blog — New Kindle Lineup Officially Unveiled, With New Page-Turn Accessories

This piece was prepared with artificial intelligence and passed an automated source check before publication. If you see an error, ask for a correction. Request a correction or reply · How we make this

Related