Technology · News
Anthropic expands Claude Startups program with free Team access, $1,000 in credits
Published:

In brief
Anthropic has expanded its Claude Startups program, offering eligible founders a free year of Claude Team for up to five seats plus $1,000 in API credits. The expansion, announced October 6, 2026, also adds up to $45,000 in discounts from partner software tools and access to Anthropic's Applied AI team for office hours.
Anthropic has broadened its Claude Startups program, giving more early-stage companies free access to its enterprise chatbot tier and development credits, according to the company's own announcement and reporting by TechCrunch and PYMNTS.
The expanded program was unveiled on October 6, 2026 via Anthropic's Claude account on the social platform X, according to PYMNTS, building on an earlier version of the Claude Startups program. The sources reviewed do not specify when that earlier version launched or how many companies have joined it.
What the program includes
Approved founders receive one free year of Claude Team, Anthropic's collaborative workspace tier, covering up to five premium seats, according to TechCrunch and PYMNTS. Members also get $1,000 in Claude API credits to use for development, according to TechCrunch, PeopleMatters and PYMNTS.
PYMNTS and PeopleMatters both report that the expansion adds up to roughly $45,000 in discounts and credits from partner software tools. PYMNTS names Linear, Lovable, ElevenLabs, Granola and Hex among the partners offering reduced pricing, while PeopleMatters refers to this bundle as the "Claude Startup Stack." PeopleMatters additionally describes the combined value of Claude-specific benefits -- the free Team year plus the $1,000 in credits -- as being worth up to $7,000.
Beyond software credits, the program gives members access to Anthropic's Claude Marketplace, where startups can distribute plug-ins they build on the platform, and to virtual office hours with the company's Applied AI team for technical guidance, according to TechCrunch and PeopleMatters. PeopleMatters also mentions networking opportunities and hackathon-style events such as "Founder House."
Who can apply
Eligibility is consistent across the sources: a company qualifies if it was founded within the last five years, or if it received funding within the last two years. PYMNTS reports the program is open to bootstrapped, pre-seed and venture-backed companies alike. Interested founders apply through Anthropic's startup program page, and approval is required before benefits are granted.
Why Anthropic says it is doing this
Anthropic framed the expansion as a response to direct feedback from founders. Sarah Wolf, the company's head of startup marketing, told PYMNTS the new benefits were "developed in response to feedback from founders," adding that "there's never been both a better and harder time to be a founder."
We created this program because we believe the benefits of AI will reach most people through the companies that build on top of models, rather than through the models alone.
In India, Anthropic's managing director Irina Ghose was quoted by PeopleMatters encouraging founders to apply, saying plainly: "If you were founded in the last five years or funded in the last two, apply." PeopleMatters reports the expanded program specifically targets AI-native businesses, including firms in India.
Background
PYMNTS notes Anthropic's prior moves to court the startup ecosystem, including a $100 million AI startup fund formed with venture firm Menlo Ventures in July 2024, and a May 2026 partnership with PayPal offering an AI course aimed at small-business owners. The outlet did not find comparable detail on rival startup-support programs from OpenAI, Google or Microsoft.
| Benefit | TechCrunch | PeopleMatters | PYMNTS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free Claude Team access | 1 year, up to 5 seats | 1 year, new members | 1 year |
| API credits | $1,000 | $1,000 upon approval | $1,000 |
| Partner tool discounts | Not specified | Up to $45,000 ("Claude Startup Stack") | Up to $45,000 (named partners: Linear, Lovable, ElevenLabs, Granola, Hex) |
| Combined stated value | Not stated | Up to $7,000 (Claude-specific benefits) | Not stated |
| Office hours / support | Virtual office hours with Applied AI team | Office hours, networking, hackathons ("Founder House") | Office hours with Applied AI team |
The figures differ slightly across outlets because they describe different parts of the same package: the $1,000 API credit and free Team year are Claude-specific benefits, while the larger $45,000 figure refers to discounts on third-party software offered through partner companies, not Anthropic products themselves.
Questions
- What exactly does Anthropic's Claude Startups program give founders?
- Approved members get one free year of Claude Team access for up to five seats and $1,000 in Claude API credits, plus access to the Claude Marketplace and office hours with Anthropic's Applied AI team, according to TechCrunch and PeopleMatters.
- Who is eligible for the Claude Startups program?
- Companies qualify if they were founded within the last five years or received funding within the last two years, per TechCrunch, PeopleMatters and PYMNTS.
- When was the expanded program announced?
- Anthropic announced the expansion on October 6, 2026, via its Claude account on the social platform X, according to PYMNTS.
- Is this a brand-new program or an expansion of an existing one?
- It is an expansion of an earlier version of the Claude Startups program, according to TechCrunch and PYMNTS. The sources do not specify when that earlier version launched or how many companies had already joined before the October 2026 update added more partner discounts and benefits.
How the world is telling it
- English (India-focused coverage via PeopCoverage aimed at the Indian market frames the expansion as specifically targeting AI-native startups in India, quoting Anthropic's India managing director urging local founders to apply, and emphasizing the program as a way to lower infrastructure costs for early-stage companies.
Sources
This piece was prepared with artificial intelligence and passed an automated source check before publication. If you see an error, ask for a correction. Request a correction or reply · How we make this
Related
TechnologyNews
Gaza AI-targeting documentary NAZA sparks political backlash in Israel, opens in 500 French cinemas
NAZA, a documentary by Israeli filmmakers Yuval Abraham and Rachel Szor on artificial intelligence in Israeli military targeting in Gaza, won a Special Jury Prize at the 2026 Venice Film Festival and triggered an Israeli government backlash, including threats to strip the directors' citizenship. The 80-minute film opened in 500 French cinemas on October 12-13, 2026, and is set to stream free via The Guardian in November.
TechnologyArticle
Joe Rogan's Spotify Renewal Shows How Podcast Power Has Shifted to Creators
Spotify and Joe Rogan announced a new multi-year licensing agreement on October 8, 2026, six years after their original 2020 deal — but this time without exclusivity, letting "The Joe Rogan Experience" stream on multiple platforms at once. The renewal, reported at roughly $250 million by The Wall Street Journal, illustrates a broader industry shift: platforms increasingly license and distribute creator-owned shows rather than lock them into exclusive contracts.
TechnologyNews
ASOS confirms data breach after hackers hijack app to send "ASOS HACKED" alert
UK online fashion retailer ASOS has confirmed that hackers broke into a third-party platform linked to its app and accessed customer personal data, including names, addresses, phone numbers and email addresses. The company says passwords and full payment card details were not affected, but a group calling itself Xuanye Group later shared a larger data sample with reporters.

TechnologyArticle
How Meta's Muse AI Agent Works: Architecture, Safety and Rollout Explained
Meta's Muse is an "agentic" AI system that acts on a user's behalf — booking travel, filling forms and sending emails — rather than just answering questions. It runs each user's agent inside an isolated virtual machine and routes every external action through a separate permission system called Sentinel, according to Meta's own technical blog. The system launched publicly on September 8, 2026, after internal safety concerns had been raised during testing, according to reporting by the New York Times as covered by other outlets.