Technology · News
Apple Reportedly Plans First Touchscreen MacBook Pro and OLED iPad Mini for Late October 2026
Published:
In brief
Apple is preparing to introduce its first touchscreen MacBook Pro and a redesigned OLED iPad mini around October 27, 2026, according to Bloomberg's Mark Gurman. The launch is expected to also include an M6-powered 14-inch MacBook Pro and an M6 iMac, separate from Apple's October 13 smart-home event. Apple has not officially confirmed the products or the date.
Apple is expected to unveil its first touchscreen MacBook Pro models alongside a redesigned iPad mini on or around October 27, 2026, according to reporting from Bloomberg's Mark Gurman that was picked up and detailed by Macworld, MacRumors and Engadget. The report describes a second Apple hardware push for the month, following a separate October 13 event centered on smart-home devices.
What the report says
According to Gurman's reporting, Apple does not plan a traditional livestreamed keynote for the October 27 launch. Instead, the company is said to be preparing an online video presentation combined with hands-on briefing sessions for members of the press and content creators on the evening of October 27 and through October 28, Engadget and MacRumors reported, both citing Bloomberg.
The report is based on unnamed sources and has not been confirmed by Apple. Specific pricing, exact product names and a confirmed on-sale date were not disclosed in any of the reports reviewed.
Touchscreen MacBook Pro: what's described
The redesigned 14-inch and 16-inch MacBook Pro models, internally referenced by codenames in Gurman's reporting, are described as thinner and lighter than current versions. They are said to feature OLED displays with touch input for the first time on a MacBook, plus a Dynamic Island cutout in place of the current notch, mirroring the interface element Apple introduced on iPhone.
Reports differ on the chip inside the touchscreen models. Macworld and Engadget both reported the touchscreen MacBook Pro would use the existing M5 Pro and M5 Max chips rather than a new generation. MacRumors' report did not specify which chip would power the touchscreen models, mentioning only that a separate M6 14-inch MacBook Pro and M6 iMac would launch alongside them. Engadget additionally reported that Apple has internally considered a new name, 'MacBook Ultra,' for the line, and that the machines are meant to support a dynamic interface that adapts to touch versus keyboard-and-trackpad use.
Separately, and more consistently across reports, Apple is also expected to update the standard 14-inch MacBook Pro to the M6 chip. Macworld reported the M6 includes a 12-core CPU and 12-core GPU, built on TSMC's 2-nanometer process, with Neural Accelerators in every GPU core, a dual 16-core Neural Engine, and memory bandwidth of up to 170GB/s. That standard M6 model is expected to keep its current design, without the OLED touchscreen reserved for the premium models.
| Model | Reported chip | Display | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Current 14-inch MacBook Pro | M5 | Standard LCD, no touch | On sale (starts at $1,999 per Macworld) |
| Touchscreen MacBook Pro (14"/16") | M5 Pro / M5 Max (Macworld, Engadget); not specified by MacRumors | OLED, touch, Dynamic Island | Rumored, unconfirmed |
| Updated 14-inch MacBook Pro | M6 | Standard LCD, same design | Rumored, unconfirmed |
| iMac | M6 | Not detailed in reports | Rumored, unconfirmed |
iPad mini redesign
The new iPad mini is reported to gain an OLED display, replacing the current LCD panel. MacRumors and Engadget both reported a landscape-oriented camera intended for video calls, and an updated, redesigned speaker system. No chip, pricing or storage details for the iPad mini were included in the reports reviewed.
Background: why this matters now
Apple has avoided touchscreens on Mac laptops for over a decade, even as competitors such as Microsoft's Surface line and many Windows laptops adopted the feature. According to Engadget, rumors about a touchscreen edition of Apple's laptop date back to at least 2023. A touch MacBook Pro would also require software changes; MacRumors reported an updated version of macOS, referred to in development as 'Golden Gate,' designed to better support touch interactions alongside the existing trackpad and keyboard input.
The October 27 plans would follow Apple's October 13 event, which focused on smart-home products, according to the same Bloomberg reporting cited by MacRumors and Engadget. Apple's official event invitations or keynote, if any, had not been issued as of the most recent reporting reviewed for this piece.
What remains unconfirmed
- Apple has not officially announced an October 27 event, product names, or pricing.
- Macworld and Engadget report the touchscreen MacBook Pro will use M5 Pro/Max chips; MacRumors' report did not specify a chip for this model.
- No confirmed on-sale date exists beyond the reported unveiling window.
- iPad mini chip and storage specifications were not reported.
Questions
- When will Apple's touchscreen MacBook Pro be announced?
- According to Bloomberg's Mark Gurman, as reported by Macworld, MacRumors and Engadget, Apple is expected to unveil the touchscreen MacBook Pro on or around October 27, 2026. Apple has not officially confirmed this date.
- What chip will the touchscreen MacBook Pro use?
- Macworld and Engadget reported the touchscreen models will use the existing M5 Pro and M5 Max chips. MacRumors' report did not specify a chip for the touchscreen model, mentioning only a separate M6 14-inch MacBook Pro and M6 iMac launching alongside it. No official specification has been confirmed by Apple.
- Will the touchscreen MacBook Pro launch at a live keynote?
- No. According to Engadget and MacRumors, citing Bloomberg, Apple plans an online video presentation combined with hands-on press briefings on October 27 and 28, rather than a traditional livestreamed keynote.
- What's new about the 2026 iPad mini?
- Reports from MacRumors and Engadget describe an OLED display, a landscape-oriented video-calling camera, and a redesigned speaker system, though chip and pricing details have not been reported.
- Is a new MacBook Ultra name confirmed?
- No. Engadget reported Apple has internally considered naming the touchscreen line 'MacBook Ultra,' but this has not been confirmed by Apple and no other source reviewed mentioned this name.
Sources
This piece was prepared with artificial intelligence and passed an automated source check before publication. If you see an error, ask for a correction. Request a correction or reply · How we make this
Related
TechnologyArticle
Apple HomeView Explained: Price, Features and Release Date of the New Smart Display
Apple HomeView is a $299 smart home display with a 7-inch screen and built-in speaker that combines entertainment, FaceTime calling and smart home control, built around a new version of Siri called Siri AI. Pre-orders opened October 13, 2026, with the device shipping November 13 in eight countries, though not in the European Union.

TechnologyNews
Meta Launches Muse Wonder AI Models for Personal and Professional Tasks
Meta introduced two new AI models, Muse Wonder and Muse Wonder Full, on October 12, 2026, describing them as its most capable models to date for "agentic" tasks such as document analysis, coding and planning. Muse Wonder is available now through Meta's API and Muse Code, while the more powerful Wonder Full is limited to paying Muse Code subscribers.

TechnologyComparison
Wireless Headphones Buying Guide: Earbuds vs. Over-Ear Compared
There is no single "best" wireless headphone — the right choice depends on battery life, noise cancellation, fit and budget. Comparing official specifications from Apple, Bose and Sony against independent testing from GSMArena and SoundGuys shows clear trade-offs between compact earbuds and over-ear designs.
TechnologyArticle
Apple HomeView Explained: How Its Smart Home Hub Connects Your Devices
Apple HomeView is a $299 smart home hub with a 7-inch touchscreen that controls lights, locks, thermostats and cameras through Apple Home, Matter and Thread, while a new Siri AI handles voice requests. It launched on October 13, 2026, with retail availability from November 13, and works alongside new HomePod mini and Apple TV 4K models.