Cars · Guide

Gas, Hybrid or Electric Car: How to Choose, Based on Cost and Charging Data

Published:

Tesla Model 3 at IBM Toronto Lab
Image credit: Raysonho @ Open Grid Scheduler / Scalable Grid Engine · CC0 · Wikimedia Commons

In brief

The right choice between a gasoline, hybrid or electric car depends mainly on how many miles you drive, whether you can charge at home, and how long you keep the vehicle. Government efficiency data and industry price and maintenance figures show electric cars cost more to buy but less to run and maintain, while hybrids split the difference without requiring a charger.

The three powertrains, explained

A gasoline car runs purely on an internal combustion engine. A hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) pairs that engine with a battery and electric motor that it recharges itself, using regenerative braking to recapture energy lost during coasting or braking, an electric motor that assists the engine when accelerating or climbing hills, and an automatic stop/start system that shuts the engine off at idle, according to the U.S. Department of Energy's fueleconomy.gov. An HEV never needs to be plugged in.

A plug-in hybrid (PHEV) adds a larger battery that can be charged from an outlet and driven a limited distance on electricity alone before the gasoline engine takes over. A battery-electric vehicle (BEV) has no engine at all: it is propelled only by electric motors drawing on a rechargeable battery pack, fueleconomy.gov states.

Compare efficiency and the sticker price

On energy efficiency, fueleconomy.gov reports that electric motors convert more than 77% of the electrical energy drawn from the grid into power at the wheels, while gasoline engines convert only about 12% to 30% of the energy stored in fuel into power at the wheels. That gap is the main reason electric driving tends to cost less per mile than gasoline.

Purchase price runs the other way. In the United States, the average new-vehicle transaction price reached $50,080 in September 2025, its first time above $50,000, while the average transaction price for a new electric vehicle that month was $58,124, according to a Kelley Blue Book report published by Cox Automotive on October 13, 2025. EVs reached a record 11.6% share of the U.S. new-vehicle market that month, the report said. Cox Automotive's data did not break out separate average prices for hybrids or gasoline-only models.

Compare maintenance and lifetime running costs

An analysis of real-world repair and maintenance records from thousands of Consumer Reports members, published October 8, 2020, found that battery-electric and plug-in hybrid owners paid roughly half as much over a vehicle's lifetime as owners of gasoline models, according to a summary of the study published by the Great Plains Institute. The study put lifetime maintenance and repair costs at about $4,600 for battery-electric vehicles, $4,600 for plug-in hybrids, and $9,200 for gasoline vehicles, equivalent to roughly 3 cents per mile for the electric and plug-in models versus about 6 cents per mile for gasoline cars.

Gas vs. hybrid vs. electric: what the data shows
FactorBattery-electric (BEV)Plug-in hybrid (PHEV)Gasoline (ICE)
Energy converted to power at wheels (fueleconomy.gov)More than 77%Not separately reported12%–30%
Lifetime maintenance & repair cost (Consumer Reports, 2020)≈ $4,600≈ $4,600≈ $9,200
Maintenance cost per mile (Consumer Reports, 2020)≈ $0.031≈ $0.030≈ $0.061
Average U.S. new-vehicle transaction price, Sept. 2025 (Cox Automotive/KBB)$58,124Not separately reportedNot separately reported (market-wide average: $50,080)
Typical battery/engine lifespan noted by fueleconomy.gov12–15 years (moderate climate), 8–12 years (severe climate) for the traction batteryNot specified separately by this sourceEngine life not quantified by this source

Charging and refueling access

Gasoline refueling takes minutes almost anywhere. For EVs, fueleconomy.gov states a full home recharge typically takes 3 to 12 hours, while DC fast charging to 80% capacity takes about 30 minutes. How easy that is to arrange depends heavily on where you live.

The International Energy Agency's Global EV Outlook 2025 counted more than 5 million public charging points worldwide at the end of 2024, after roughly 1.3 million were added that year, a 30% increase. China accounted for about 65% of the global total. Europe passed 1 million public charging points by the end of 2024 (up 35% from 2023), led by the Netherlands (more than 180,000), Germany (about 160,000) and France (about 155,000). The United States had just under 200,000 public charging points at the end of 2024, up 20% during the year, the IEA report said. Globally, fast chargers (22–150 kW) reached about 2 million units, and ultra-fast chargers above 150 kW grew more than 50% in 2024.

On adoption, the IEA's executive summary reports that electric car sales passed 17 million worldwide in 2024, giving EVs more than a 20% share of global car sales, and projects 2025 sales will exceed 20 million units, more than one-quarter of all cars sold worldwide. In China, the IEA said, one in 10 cars on the road was already electric.

Step-by-step: how to decide which one fits you

  1. Estimate your annual mileage and typical trip length — higher annual mileage increases the relative fuel/energy savings an EV or hybrid can deliver over a gasoline car.
  2. Check whether you can charge at home or at work overnight; fueleconomy.gov notes a full EV charge usually takes 3–12 hours on a standard charger, so reliable overnight access matters more than public fast chargers for day-to-day driving.
  3. Look up public charging density in your country or state using IEA regional figures (for example, the roughly 200,000 points in the U.S. versus over 1 million in Europe) to gauge how easy charging will be on longer trips.
  4. Compare upfront price: expect to pay a premium for a new BEV — Cox Automotive/KBB put the average EV transaction price at $58,124 in September 2025 versus a $50,080 market-wide average — and weigh that against any applicable local incentives, which are not included in these published averages.
  5. Add up expected maintenance and repair costs over the years you plan to keep the car; the 2020 Consumer Reports analysis found BEVs and PHEVs averaged about $4,600 in lifetime repair costs versus about $9,200 for gasoline vehicles.
  6. Factor in energy efficiency: fueleconomy.gov data showing EVs convert over 77% of grid electricity to wheel power, versus 12%–30% for gasoline engines, translates into lower per-mile energy costs for electric driving in most cases.
  7. If choosing a BEV or PHEV, check the battery warranty against the 12–15 year (moderate climate) or 8–12 year (severe climate) lifespan range fueleconomy.gov cites for traction batteries, since replacement can be costly outside the warranty period.
  8. Weigh the total picture — purchase price, energy/fuel cost, maintenance, and charging convenience — against how long you intend to own the car, since EVs and hybrids typically need several years of driving to offset their higher sticker price.

Questions

Is an electric car cheaper to own overall than a gasoline car?
It depends on the time horizon. Battery-electric vehicles have higher average purchase prices ($58,124 vs. a $50,080 market-wide average in the U.S. in September 2025, per Cox Automotive/KBB) but lower lifetime maintenance costs (about $4,600 vs. $9,200 in a 2020 Consumer Reports analysis), so EVs tend to become cheaper the longer and farther you drive them.
Do hybrid cars need to be plugged in?
No. A standard hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) recharges its own battery through regenerative braking and the engine, and never needs to be plugged in, according to fueleconomy.gov. Only plug-in hybrids (PHEVs) and fully electric cars (BEVs) require charging from an outlet.
How long does it take to charge an electric car?
fueleconomy.gov states a full recharge on a standard home charger typically takes 3 to 12 hours, while DC fast charging to about 80% battery capacity takes roughly 30 minutes.
How common are electric cars worldwide in 2025?
The IEA's Global EV Outlook 2025 reports that electric car sales exceeded 17 million globally in 2024 (more than 20% of all car sales) and projects 2025 sales will top 20 million, more than one-quarter of cars sold worldwide.
Will I have access to public charging where I live?
It varies widely by region. The IEA counted just under 200,000 public charging points in the United States at the end of 2024, versus more than 1 million in Europe and roughly 65% of the global total concentrated in China.

Sources

  1. U.S. Department of Energy / EPA — fueleconomy.gov: "All-Electric Vehicles"
  2. U.S. Department of Energy / EPA — fueleconomy.gov: "How Hybrids Work"
  3. IEA — Global EV Outlook 2025: Electric vehicle charging
  4. IEA — Global EV Outlook 2025: Executive summary
  5. Cox Automotive — Kelley Blue Book Report: New-Vehicle ATP, September 2025
  6. Great Plains Institute — Summary of Consumer Reports study on EV maintenance costs

This piece was prepared with artificial intelligence and passed an automated source check before publication. If you see an error, ask for a correction. Request a correction or reply · How we make this

Related