Technology · Comparison

How to Choose an E-Reader in 2026: Kindle vs Kobo Compared

Published:

In brief

Amazon's October 2026 Kindle redesign and Kobo's color lineup give shoppers more e-reader options than ever, at prices from $150 to $320. The right choice depends on screen size, color needs, waterproofing, page-turn buttons and whether you borrow library ebooks — not on brand alone.

Amazon introduced a redesigned Kindle lineup on October 1, 2026, with flush-front displays, lighter builds and a new Bluetooth page-turn remote, according to Amazon's own announcement. The refresh has driven a surge of searches from readers trying to decide which e-reader, Kindle or otherwise, actually fits how they read.

What changed in Amazon's 2026 lineup

The base 6-inch Kindle now starts at $149.99 with 16GB of storage and up to six weeks of battery life, Amazon says, with a $189.99 aluminum-back version offering 32GB. The 7-inch Kindle Paperwhite starts at $199.99, is thinner and lighter than before, and Amazon claims up to 12 weeks of battery life; a $249.99 Signature Edition adds an aluminum back, auto-adjusting light and wireless dock charging. The color Kindle Colorsoft starts at $289.99, with a $319.99 Signature Edition, per Amazon's product listings.

Amazon also launched the Kindle Click, a $34.99 Bluetooth remote for turning pages without touching the screen, useful for reading in bed or on a treadmill, TechCrunch reported. It works with the new models and with Kindles from 2024 onward. A $79.99 magnetic Page-Turn Cover with physical buttons is available only for the Paperwhite and Colorsoft Signature Editions, according to Amazon and TechCrunch's reporting. The Paperwhite and Colorsoft are on preorder with shipping estimated for October 28, while the base Kindle is available immediately, HowToGeek reported.

Specs side by side

Current e-readers compared
ModelScreenPrice (from)Battery (maker claim)WaterproofPage-turn buttons
Kindle (2026)6-inch, B&W$149.996 weeksNot stated by AmazonNo (Click remote sold separately, $34.99)
Kindle Paperwhite (2026)7-inch, B&W$199.9912 weeksYes (per Amazon)Signature Edition: double-tap; others need Click remote
Kindle Colorsoft (2026)7-inch, color$289.99Not detailed by AmazonNot stated by AmazonSignature Edition: double-tap; others need Click remote
Kobo Clara BW6-inch, B&W$159.99Up to 53 days (light use)IPX8, 60 min / 2mNo
Kobo Libra Colour7-inch, color$259.99Up to 40 days (light use)IPX8, 60 min / 2mYes, built in

Battery figures are not directly comparable: Amazon states its claims in weeks of typical use, while Kobo, per its own product pages, calculates days based on 30 minutes of reading per day with wireless radios off. Storage on all five models starts at 16GB, except the Libra Colour, which starts at 32GB.

Ecosystem: library books and file formats

Kobo e-readers, including the Clara BW and Libra Colour, have a built-in Libby app that lets owners borrow library ebooks directly on the device using a library card and Wi-Fi, according to Kobo's own support documentation. That built-in borrowing works in 13 regions, including the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia, Kobo says. Amazon's October 2026 announcement does not describe a comparable built-in library-borrowing feature for the new Kindle lineup.

Matching a device to how you read

Amazon specifically positions it for reading under the covers, on a treadmill, or with a Kindle resting on a tray table during a flight.

— TechCrunch, describing Amazon's Kindle Click remote

Price and availability at a glance

As of October 2, 2026, the 2026 Kindle is shipping now; the Paperwhite and Colorsoft are on preorder with an estimated ship date of October 28, according to Amazon and HowToGeek. Kobo's Clara BW and Libra Colour are already on general sale through Kobo's own store.

Questions

Should I buy the base Kindle or pay more for the Paperwhite?
The base $149.99 Kindle has a smaller 6-inch screen and Amazon does not state a waterproof rating for it, while the $199.99 Paperwhite has a larger 7-inch screen, a stated waterproof design (Amazon does not specify an IPX rating) and up to 12 weeks of claimed battery life versus 6 weeks for the base model, per Amazon's figures.
Do I need the Kindle Click remote?
Only if you want hands-free page turning without touching the screen; it is a separate $34.99 Bluetooth accessory and is not included with any Kindle, according to TechCrunch and Amazon.
Can Kindle devices borrow library ebooks directly like Kobo?
Kobo devices have a built-in Libby app for direct library borrowing in supported regions, per Kobo's support documentation. Amazon's 2026 Kindle announcement does not describe a similar built-in library-borrowing feature for the new Kindle lineup.
Which e-readers have color screens right now?
The Kindle Colorsoft ($289.99) and the Kobo Libra Colour ($259.99) both use color E Ink technology, according to Amazon and Kobo's own product pages.
When do the new 2026 Kindles ship?
The base Kindle is available immediately; the Kindle Paperwhite and Kindle Colorsoft are on preorder with an estimated ship date of October 28, 2026, according to Amazon and HowToGeek's reporting.

Sources

  1. Amazon — The new Amazon Kindle lineup: thinner, lighter, edge-to-edge color
  2. TechCrunch — Amazon introduces Kindle Click, a $35 remote for hands-free reading
  3. HowToGeek — Amazon's redesigned Kindle eReaders get a page-turning remote
  4. Kobo — Kobo Libra Colour product page
  5. Kobo — Kobo Clara BW product page
  6. Kobo Help — Borrow eBooks from the public library using your Kobo eReader

This piece was prepared with artificial intelligence and passed an automated source check before publication. If you see an error, ask for a correction. Request a correction or reply · How we make this

Related